Big Changes Coming to World of Hyatt in 2019 2

Big changes are coming to the World of Hyatt loyalty program in 2019! Some are good, some are bad. Simple Flying breaks it down for you.

Hyatt Regency Istanbul

The Bad, Part 1

Previously, you could earn club upgrades via spending on your Hyatt Visa card. (Note this is only true for the legacy Hyatt Visa card, not the current World Of Hyatt Credit Card). If you spent $50,000 in a calendar year, you’d achieve Explorist status and receive four club upgrade certificates.

This all changes at the end of 2019, when Explorist status earned through credit card spending omits the four club upgrade certificates. Will that be worth it to you? Eh. That means you can only earn the club upgrade certificates via the Milestone Rewards structure. So, if you want to achieve Explorist status and get those four club upgrade certificates via spending, you’ll want to do it soon, as, after 2019, the perk is no more.

If you switch over to the new World Of Hyatt Card, you do receive two qualifying nights for every $5,000 in net spending, as well as five qualifying nights annually, SO, if you spent $50,000 on the new card, you’d get 25 qualifying nights, which means you’re at least close to earning Explorist status, even if you’re not quite there yet.

Grand Hyatt Seattle
Retaining your top-tier status is going to take a little extra work.

The Bad, Part 2

But then, after obtaining Explorist status, when you go on to try to earn Globalist status, that’s going to prove to be a new challenge all on its own.

If you’re currently a Hyatt Globalist member, you can re-qualify for top-tier status by staying 55 nights rather than 60. If you have the new World Of Hyatt Card, you already get five qualifying nights, so that means you only really have to stay 50 qualifying nights to re-qualify….right?

Wrong! If you’re looking to re-qualify for Globalist status, you have to now meet the full 60 night requirement (technically 55 if you have the card, but still, if not, you’re out of luck, full 60 required).

However! You will get other World of Hyatt rewards faster, which means more are in reach, with less effort.

The Good

But it’s not all bad! The new Milestone Rewards and Tier Status system allows you to earn more perks earlier on, rather than just getting the really good stuff at the Explorist and Globalist levels.

Previously, members were awarded all four club lounge upgrades at 30 qualifying nights or 50,000 base points. Now, you’ll get two at 20 nights or 35,000 base points and two more at 30 nights and 50,000 base points. For suite upgrades, you’ll get two at 50 nights and two more at 60 nights.

This is nice because it means you’ll get more benefits, faster, so they don’t seem as far out of reach as they normally would.

A new perk comes at the 40-night point or the 65,000 base point tier. Hyatt will give you either 5,000 points, a $100 Hyatt gift card or a 10,000-point discount off a FIND experience.

It all breaks down like this:

  • 20 nights or 35,000 base points = 2 club lounge awards
  • 30 nights or 50,000 base points = free night (category 1-4) and 2 club lounge awards
  • 40 nights or 65,000 base points = 5,000 bonus points or a $100 Hyatt gift card or a 10,000-point discount off a FIND experience
  • 50 nights or 80,000 base points = 2 suite upgrades
  • 60 nights or 100,000 base points = free night (category 1-7), 2 suite upgrades and access to a My Hyatt Concierge agent
  • 70 nights = bonus points or a suite upgrade
  • 80 nights = bonus points or a suite upgrade
  • 90 nights = bonus points or a suite upgrade
  • 100 nights = bonus points or a suite upgrade

These changes start March 1, 2019.

To Make the Most of These Changes…

To make the most of these changes you definitely do need The World Of Hyatt Credit Card. If you sign up now, you’ll get 60,000 bonus points. That’s 40,000 bonus points after you spend $3,000 on purchases within the first three months and then another 20,000 bonus points after you spend $6,000 on purchases within the first six months.


  1. What happens if I am staying for 43 nights straight. Do I just skip the tier at 20 and 30 or do I also get the benefits at 20,30,and 40?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *