Which Countries Are Still Permitting Transit Passengers?

We are living in a unique moment where the majority of well-visited countries have placed some sort of travel restrictions. While nations try their best to handle the COVID-19 pandemic, some are still allowing transit passengers.

Heathrow airport sign with Airplane
The United Kingdom is yet to enforce any travel ban. Photo: Getty Images

There are some countries that specialize in connections to different regions of the world. However, most these of these nations now have restrictions in place. Here is a look at some countries with connecting hubs that still allow transit in these tough times.


On March 15th, Qatari officials announced that it would ban inbound flights. However, cargo and transit services are exempt from this ruling, which starts today. Therefore, those looking to connect either side of the Persian Gulf are still allowed to transit through Doha. Qatar Airways is also still operating in and out of its nation.

Bahrain and Oman

According to Yahoo, both Bahrain and Oman will still offer transit flights. This will enable some additional options in the Middle East.


Last week, Singapore announced a ban on all visitors that had been to Italy, France, Germany, and Spain entering the country. Additionally, All passengers entering the city island city-state from ASEAN (Association of Southeast Asian Nations) countries will be issued with a 14-day “Stay-Home Notice”.

This also applies to those traveling from Japan, Switzerland or the United Kingdom. These fliers will have to prove that they will self-quarantine on arrival.

Channel News Asia reports that those traveling from Italy, France, Germany, and Spain within the last 14 days can’t transit. However, travelers from other nations seem to be able to pass through on their journey. So, those wanting to connect to the like of Bali, Australia, Malaysia, and Thailand could have options.

Singapore Airlines A380 Aircraft
The global crisis has hit Singapore Airlines hard. Photo: Getty Images


From tomorrow, Finland will only grant entry to Finnish citizens and those with a registered right of residence in the country. ERR reports that the Nordic nation will also let Estonian workers enter in and out. In respect to its neighbors, European Union member states can still transit through Finland.

These restrictions will be another blow to Finnair, which was already struggling due to the drop in Asian demand. The Finnish flag carrier is proud to be able to connect the West with the East, with a large part of its revenue coming from these links.

Finnair will have far fewer flights taking off over the next few months. Photo: Getty Images


Those looking to transit in Latin America can try and do so via Brazil, which is one of the few South American countries to have relaxed restrictions. However, good luck finding a neighboring country that will let you enter, as the likes of Argentina, Bolivia, and Colombia have placed strict international travel bans.

United Kingdom

Despite most of its counterparts enforcing some sort of restrictions, the UK is happy to keep its borders and airports open. Prime Minister Boris Johnson has even shared that he warns against all non-necessary travel but he is reluctant to place any ban on entry.

Today, at a press conference, the politician said he is a firm believer in the freedom of choice. Therefore, he hopes that his country’s citizens will make the right one.

Harsh measures

Altogether, these are some of the key countries that specialize in connecting passengers in transit that can still offer some sort of service in this tough time. Hopefully, nations can work together to offer better connectivity while addressing safety concerns over the next few months.

Which other transit specialists do you know of that are still able to connect passengers across the globe? Share your thoughts with us in the comment section.