Which Countries Remain Exempt From The UK’s Quarantine Mandate?

The United Kingdom is continuing to update its list of countries that are exempt from 14-day quarantine policies for returning passengers. Here is a look at the current nations that the UK government has fewer restrictions in place for those arriving.

British Airways take-off
The UK has recently revised its list of travel corridors. Photo: Getty Images

The UK has different policies across its countries. So, England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, and Wales all have their own lists. Most of the exemptions are similar, but there is some variance. Here is the quarantine-free list on the UK government’s website for those traveling to England.

  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • the Azores
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • The British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Cayman Islands
  • The Channel Islands
  • Cuba
  • Cyprus
  • Dominica
  • Estonia
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • Gibraltar
  • Germany
  • Greece, except the islands of Crete, Lesvos, Mykonos, Santorini, Serifos, Tinos, and Zakynthos)
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Hong Kong
  • Ireland
  • The Isle of Man
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Macao (Macau)
  • Madeira
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
  • San Marino
  • Seychelles
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • Saint Lucia
  • Saint Barthélemy
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sweden
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Vatican City State
  • Vietnam

Challenging restrictions

Notably, a large portion of the areas on rheas lists are islands. Moreover, several of the countries on this list are not open to general visitors. For instance, only Australian citizens, permanent residents, and their immediate family members are currently allowed to enter Australia without an exemption. So, it’s essential to take a look at a prospective destination’s entry requirements before booking tickets and setting off.

Subsequently, several jetsetters have been analyzing this list to weigh their options during this unique time. For example, Italy has been popular over the last few months for British vacationers. It’s close proximity to home, warm climate, tourism hotspots, and the lack of need for quarantine have made it an even more attractive destination.

Greece was also a popular choice this summer. However, the regional quarantine policy for some famous holiday resorts has shaken things up.

Regional variance

There are also some differences depending on the home nation. For instance, Greece isn’t on Scotland’s list at all. Therefore, it’s advisable to also check country-specific government guidance.

Additional restrictions

Just yesterday, the UK government removed the following countries from the exempt list:

  • Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba
  • Poland
  • Turkey

This news would be a blow for many potential holidaymakers and airlines. Many British residents looking for a short break in Europe were turning to Poland for its history and tourist attractions. Meanwhile, Turkey was one of the few popular beach resorts on the list that isn’t too far-distant and has many low-cost options.

It’s also important to note that travelers will also need to self-isolate for 14 days if they made a transit stop in one of the countries not on the list in the 14 days before arriving in England.

Altogether, the government is continually updating its list. We can soon expect to see more countries taken off and added.

What are your thoughts about the United Kingdom list of countries that are free from isolation requirements for returning passengers? Do you agree with the government’s current policies of quarantine? Let us know what you think of the situation in the comment section.